Dawson City – The Klondike Placer Miners’ Association (KPMA) held its Annual General Meeting September 3rd at the Palace Grand in Dawson City. Included in the AGM business was the election of officers, and one new director was elected to serve the membership.

The KPMA would like to welcome new Director Liam Ferguson to the board, and extend our most sincere thanks to retiring Director Mike Heisey for over 12 years of service and contribution to the KPMA.

KPMA bylaws prescribe that approximately one half of the directors be elected every other year for a two-year term to maintain continuity among the board. Directors who were acclaimed are Vice President Neil Loveless, and Directors Mark Mather, Mike McDougall, and Stuart Schmidt. The position of President was not contested and Will Fellers continues to serve out the remainder of his term alongside Secretary/Treasurer Lisa Favron, Directors Kyle Bruce and Pascal McBurney.

In addition to the directors’ elections, the public portion of the AGM included attendance and remarks from Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in Chief Roberta Joseph Hähkè, Minister John Streicker and other Yukon government leadership, the Dawson Region Planning Commission staff, various elected officials, the Yukon Geological Survey, members of the public, and of course, miners from across the placer field.

The KPMA was established in 1974 to promote and protect the interests of the placer mining industry and acts as a voice for all Yukon’s placer miners providing leadership on, and advocating for, responsible and sustainable placer mining with technological and ethical advances to the benefit of all operators, our environment, and enriching the communities we are a part of.

From Left: Kyle Bruce, Pascal McBurney, Liam Ferguson, Neil Loveless, Will Fellers, Lisa Favron, Mike McDougall, Stuart Schmidt. Missing: Mark Mather