September 6, 2022

Dawson City – The Klondike Placer Miners’ Association (KPMA) held its Annual General Meeting Friday, September 2 at the Palace Grand, resulting in one change to its Board of Directors.  KPMA bylaws prescribe that one half of the directors be elected every other year for a two-year term to maintain continuity among the board.

The Association welcomes back Will Fellers, Lisa Favron, Mike McDougall and Pascal McBurney who were acclaimed as Directors.

Director, Kyle Bruce, stepped down from his position of Director at Large, and Harold Schmidt was elected by members to fill the role. The KPMA would like to welcome Harold to the Board as a Director, and thank Kyle for volunteering his time to support the Association for the past several years.

Will Fellers was reappointed as President, which is a two-year position.

In addition to the directors’ elections, the day’s proceedings included meetings with Yukon Government leadership, as well as attendance of miners from across the placer industry. Approximately 65 members attended the meeting.

The KPMA would also like to thank Technic Canada for hosting a lovely reception following the meeting.

The KPMA was established in 1974 to promote and protect the interests of the placer mining industry and acts as a voice for all Yukon’s placer miners. KPMA provides leadership on, and advocates for, responsible and sustainable placer mining with technological and ethical advances to the benefit of all operators, our environment, and enriching the communities we are a part of.

For more information please contact:

Brooke Rudolph Executive Director – 867-667-2267